Showing 23 results


As it is derived from milk, MPC is not vegan. However, dairy products are considered vegetarian. A vegan avoids all animal products, including eggs and dairy, while vegetarians tend to consume dairy products and eggs. Vegetarianism is usually a diet, while veganism is a lifestyle.

What are the nutritional differences between MPC/MPI and WPC/WPI?

Whey protein is fast-digesting, meaning the proteins empty from the stomach quickly, resulting in a rapid and substantial increase in amino acids, which aids in muscle synthesis. Casein protein, however, is slow-releasing. Casein consumption results in a prolonged increase in blood amino acids, whic… Learn More

How does heat stability compare in MPC/MPI vs WPC/WPI?

WPC is much less heat stable than MPC. When WPC is heated under ultra-high temperatures or retort conditions, the native whey unfolds and aggregates, causing gelling. Whey proteins also denature and lose solubility when exposed to ultra-high temperatures. As a result, WPCs cannot be used in large am… Learn More

What are the flavor differences between MPC/MPI and WPC/WPI?

MPCs/MPIs have a clean, light, milky flavor compared to WPCs/WPIs. As WPC/WPIs are a byproduct of cheese production, they can have various off-flavors due to processing such as sourness, bitterness, and broth-like. These off-flavors result from high usage levels of sodium, potassium, and chlorine. W… Learn More

How is the quality of the protein in a consumer product assessed?

If one is talking about nutritional quality, it is difficult to accurately assess the nutritional quality of a single protein when it is mixed with other nutrients in a consumer product. For that reason, protein nutritional quality is usually assessed on a single protein without any additional nutri… Learn More

What is the L-glutamine content in IdaPro® MPI-85%?

By the method used to run an amino acid assay, the amide group on glutamine is sheared off during the breaking of peptide bonds, changing the glutamine into glutamic acid. They are not the same thing…but by an amino acid assay, glutamine always shows up as glutamic acid. Unfortunately, it does… Learn More